Medical Education Futures StudySchool of Public Health

You are here

Advisory Board

Advisory Boards:


The Medical Education Futures Study National Advisory Board

Beyond Flexner Advisory Council

The Medical Education Futures Study National Advisory Board


Brenda Armstrong, MD
Associate Dean and Director of Medical School Admissions, Duke University Medical Center

Joe Betancourt,MD, MPH
Director, Disparities Solutions Center and Multicultural Education, Massachusetts General Hospital

Helen Burstin, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President, Performance Measures of the National Qualitiy Forum

Chris Cassel, MD, MACP,
President and CEO, American Board of Internal Medicine and the ABIM Foundation

Jay Crosson, MD
Executive Director, The Permanente Federation

Michael Ehlert, MD
AMSA President

David Goodman, MD, MS
Associate Director, Center for Healthcare Research and Reform

Kevin Grumbach, MD
Chair, Family and Community Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine

Paul Grundy, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Global Wellbeing Services and Health Benefits Director, IBM

Dan Hawkins, Jr.
Senior Vice President for Policy, National Association of Community Health Centers

John Iglehart,
Founding Editor, Health Affairs

Roberta Lynch
Deputy Director, District Council, AFSCME

Bob Phillips, MD, MSPH
Director, Robert Graham Center

Howard Rabinowitz, MD
Ellen M. and Dale W. Garber Professor of Family Medicine, Jefferson Medical College

Barbara Ross Lee, DO, FACOFP
Vice President for Health Sciences and Medical Affairs, New York Institute of Technology

John Rother
Group Executive Officer of Policy and Strategy, AARP

Jim Scott, MD, FACEP
Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, George Washington University

Steve Shannon, DO, MPH
President, American Association of Osteopathic Medicine

Jeanne Sinkford, DDS, PhD
Associate Executive Director and Director, Center for Equity and Diversity - ADEA

Brian Smedley, PhD
Research Director, The Opportunity Agenda

Beyond Flexner Advisory Council


Donald Barr, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Stanford University

Hershey Bell, M.D.
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Candice Chen, M.D. M.P.H.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

The George Washington University

Freddy Chen, M.D. M.P.H.
WWAMI Rural Health Research Center and Center for Health Workforce Studies

Gerald Clancy, M.D.
President, Professor of Psychiatry, Endowed Morningside Health Care Foundation Chair in Leadership
University of Oklahoma

Jack Geiger, M.D. M.Sci.Hyg.
City University of New York Medical School

Lauren S. Hughes, MD, MPH
Resident Physician, Family Medicine, & Immediate Past President American Medical Student Association

Arthur Kaufman, M.D.
Vice President for Community Health
University of New Mexico

Marc Nivet, Ed.D.
Chief Diversity Officer, Diversity Policy and Programs
Association of American Medical Colleges

Stephen Shannon, D.O., M.P.H.
President and CEO
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine

Brian Smedley, Ph.D.
VP and Director, HPI
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Alex Stagnaro-Green, M.D., M.H.P.E.
Senior Associate Dean for Education, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
The George Washington University

Henry Sondheimer, M.D.
Adjunct Faculty, Department of Health Policy The George Washington University, & Senior Director, Student Affairs and Student Programs, Association of American Medical Colleges

Roger Strasser, M.D.
Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Leana Wen, M.D.
Resident physician, Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency, & Former President, American Medical Student Association

Michael Whitcomb, M.D.
Professorial Lecturer in Health Policy
The George Washington University